Meet the team – Amy

Hi, I’m Amy.

2016-09-30-16-48-53

I’m currently in the final year of my PhD. My research focuses on the relationship between international investment law and international human rights law (particularly the right to food and food security) in the Sino-African context. My research interests include: public international law, international economic law and the incorporation of human rights in commercial settings, such as corporate social responsibility.

I am also an Associate Lecturer and teach on the module: ‘International Law and Institutions’. Before starting my PhD, I studied for my undergraduate degree at UWE before moving to the University of Birmingham for my LLM. After that, I took a break from studying and worked as a human rights analyst for a risk assessment company and a human rights researcher for the Business and Human Rights Resource Centre (a London-based non-governmental organisation). I returned to academia as a trade and human rights researcher briefly, before embarking on my PhD here at UWE!

The key skills I hope I can help you include:

  • Using legal databases for international law sources
  • Essay structure
  • Presentation skills
  • Critical analysis
  • Referencing

I hope that you enjoy your LLM at UWE. In addition to Henry and Coralie, I am here to help develop your academic skills. We will be running workshops throughout the term, as well as, one-to-one sessions, so stay tuned.

If you have any further questions you can contact me via email: Amy.Man@live.uwe.ac.uk

Leave a Reply

