Meet the Team – Henry

img_20160829_124432-2

My name is Henry Hillman (I’m the one on the right) I am a PhD Candidate at UWE Bristol and Associate Lecturer at UWE Bristol. I have been at UWE for longer than I care to remember, I completed my LLB and LLM at the University I teach in Commercial Law, Business Law, and International Banking and Finance Law. My research interests are banking regulation, bank sanctions, virtual currencies and money laundering. My PhD research concerns the vulnerability of virtual worlds to money laundering abuse, and I am undertaking case studies of the UK, US and Australia.

I have published work in a variety of forms, I worked on C. Chambers Jones and H. Hillman, Financial Crime and Gambling in a Virtual World: A New Frontier in Cybercrime (Edward Elgar, 2014) and contributed to N. Ryder, U. Turksen and S. Hassler, Fighting Financial Crime in the Global Economic Crisis (Routledge, 2014). I have also published a number of journal articles.

The key skills I hope I can help you with include;

Using the library

Structuring essays

Presentation skills

Critical analysis

Using MS word

Referencing

I hope that, along with Amy and Coralie, we can help you improve your academic skills, enabling you to excel in your LLM. We will be running workshops addressing pertinent issues to LLM students, as well as being available to meet to discuss issues one-to-one. I am also available to answer queries via email, my address is Henry3.Hillman@uwe.ac.uk

I look forward to meeting many of you over the course of your LLM.

Henry

Leave a Reply

